The Fiji Islands Dollar







The Fijian dollar is the currency of Fiji. Normally abbreviated with the sign of the dollar, $, or even FJ $, to distinguish it from other currencies also called dollar. The dollar was also used in Fiji from 1867 to 1873. The Fijian dollar is divided into 100 cents and circulates since 1969, when it replaced the pound.

Fijian dollar banknotes and coins in use

In 1969, the first coins of this monetary unit were minted with values of 1, 5, 10 and 20 cents, six years later the 50 cents coin was put into circulation. The Fijian dollar currencies had the same materials and dimensions as the Australian dollar.

In 2009, the two smallest coins were removed from circulation and the pieces of 5, 10, 20 and 50 cents began to be minted in smaller dimensions.

In 2013, the series of circulating currencies was completely renewed, adding the 2-dollar currency to the monetary cone. They have on their obverse as a motif the fauna of the islands in replacement of the bust of Queen Elizabeth II.

In 1867 the government of the islands issued banknotes with denomination of 1 dollar. Subsequently, precisely between 1971 and 1973, the printing of more paper money was ordered in values of 5, 10, 25 and 50 dollars. During the same period of time mentioned above, King Seru Epenisa Cakobau ordered that 12½, 25 and 100 cents be issued.5

Billetes de Dólar de las Islas Fiji

Billetes 5, 7, 10, 20, 50 and 100 FJD

Monedas de Dólar de las Islas Fiji

5, 10, 20, 50 cents 1 and 2 FJD

Did you know?

  • Officially Republic of the Fiji Islands, it is an island nation of Oceania, whose capital and most populated city is Suva.
  • The archipelago of Fiji consists of 322 islands, a third of which are uninhabited.





Date of creation:



Reserve bank of Fiyi