The Nepalese rupee







The Nepali Rupee (ISO code NPR) has been the official currency of Nepal since 1932. The most commonly used symbol of the Rupee is Rs or ₨.

The rupee was introduced for the first time in 1932, replacing the silver Mohar at an exchange rate of 2 Mohares for each Rupee. At first the Rupees were called Mohrus.

A Rupee is divided into 100 "Paisas". The institution in charge of issuing this currency is the Central Bank of Nepal.

Banknotes and coins of the Nepalese rupee in use

Currently, coins of 1, 5, 10, 25 and 50 Paisas and coins of 1, 2, 5 and 10 Rupees circulate in Nepal. The first coins that were minted were made out of silver (those of 20 and 50 Paisas and one of a Rupee). Later they were minted in copper (those of 1, 2, and 5 Paisas) between the years 1933 and 1935. In the last years the coins were of aluminum and steel.

Since 1994, the sizes of the 10 and 25 Paisa coins have been reduced and also the 50 Paisa aluminum coins and the 1, 2, 5 and 10 Ruperas of steel dipped in brass.

As for Nepalese Rupee notes you can find 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500 and 1,000 rupees.

Did you know?

  • If you are going to Nepal, as a tourist you must present your passport to buy Nepalese Rupees.
  • Only Indian citizens can devote themselves to the exchange of Indian Rupees for Nepalese Rupees.
  • You cannot pay in Nepal with a broken or damaged ticket. If this is your case, it is recommended to exchange your old bank notes at a bank.


Rs, ₨



Date of issue:



Banco Central de Nepal